Department of Energy: Webinar Invitation on Regional Clean Energy Technology Innovation

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Department of Energy: Webinar Invitation on Regional Clean Energy Technology Innovation

September 29, 2016 @ 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm UTC-5

Regional clean energy innovation ecosystems are bringing together U.S. universities, national laboratories, business and industry, and the public sector to advance critical research, development and demonstration (RD&D) strategies to achieve a low-carbon 21st century energy economy.  This significant interest reflects the spirit of the announcement of Mission Innovation at the 21st Conference of the Parties (COP21) last November 30.

Mission Innovation, a call to double RD&D resources in the energy arena, was announced by President Obama and 20 other world leaders in Paris at the COP21 to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.  The participating countries have agreed to double their clean energy RD&D budgets within five years – from USD $15 billion/year to USD $30 billion/year.

Please join us to hear the results of several university forums that have been held since April of this year on this important endeavor.

Dr. Franklin Orr, Under Secretary for Science and Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

University Presenters
Moderator:  Joe Hezir, Chief Financial Officer, U.S. Department of Energy

  • Arizona State University
    • Betsy Cantwell:  Vice President for Research Development, Office of Enterprise Development, and Interim Chief Operating Officer, Arizona State University Research Enterprise
  • Purdue University
    • Tomás Diaz de la Rubia:  Chief Scientist and Executive Director, Discovery Park
  • University of New Mexico
    • Gabriel Lopez:  Vice President for Research
  • University of Tennessee, Knoxville
    • Taylor Eighmy:  Vice Chancellor, Research & Engagement
  • University of Washington
    • Dan Schwartz:  Director, Clean Energy Institute
  • West Virginia University
    • Brian Anderson:  Director, West Virginia University Energy Institute

Additional University Participants that Hosted Events

  • Brown University
    • Amy Carroll:  Director of Research Development, Office of the Vice-President for Research
  • Tuskegee University
    • Myron Hardiman:  Executive Director, Advancing Minorities’ Interest in Engineering
  • University of California, Los Angeles
    • Casandra Rauser:  Director of Sustainable LA Grand Challenge, UCLA Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
  • University of Colorado at Boulder
    • Maury Dobbie:  Acting Executive Director, Colorado Energy Research Collaboratory, Colorado State University OR Terri Fiez:  Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Colorado at Boulder
  • University of Delaware
    • Charles Riordan:  Vice Provost of Research
  • University of Kentucky
    • David Melanson:  Assistant Director for External Affairs and Development, Center for Applied Energy Research
  • University of Pittsburgh
    • Greg Reed:  Professor and Director, Center for Energy, Swanson School of Engineering
  • University of Texas at Austin
    • Jennifer Lyons-Gardner:  Assistant Vice President for Research

Additional U.S. Department of Energy Participants 

  • Office of the Chief Financial Officer
    • Joseph Hezir, Chief Financial Officer
  • Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability
    • Patricia Hoffman, Assistant Secretary
  • Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
    •  David Friedman, Acting Assistant Secretary Principal Deputy
  • Office of Energy Policy and Systems Analysis
    • Melanie Kenderdine, Director
  • Office of Fossil Energy
    • Neelesh Nerurkar, Deputy Assistant Secretary, Office of Oil and Natural Gas
  • Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs
    • Chris Deschene, Director
  • Office of Nuclear Energy
    • John Kelly, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Reactor Technologies
  • Office of the Secretary
    • Kevin Knobloch, Chief of Staff
  • Office of Technology Transitions
    • Jetta Wong, Director
  • Office of the Under Secretary for Science and Energy
    • Franklin M. Orr, Jr., Under Secretary for Science and Energy
    • Kimberly Rasar, Associate Deputy Under Secretary

To register, click here.



September 29, 2016
2:30 pm - 4:00 pm UTC-5
By joining TAEBC, you can be part of this exciting effort to grow Tennessee’s economy through advanced energy innovation, generation and manufacturing.